Ignorance Embraced

I’ve been told that religion is just a crutch and that those who believe in God are ignorant.  Up until the past few days, I have been personally offended by these accusations.  I think I’ve mentioned before that being labeled as ignorant is not something that sits well with me.

Then, God showed me something as I read Isaiah 36.

“Don’t let Hezekiah mislead you by saying, ‘The Lord will rescue us!’ Have the gods of any other nations ever saved their people from the king of Assyria?19 What happened to the gods of Hamath and Arpad? And what about the gods of Sepharvaim? Did any god rescue Samaria from my power? 20 What god of any nation has ever been able to save its people from my power? So what makes you think that the Lord can rescue Jerusalem from me?”

So, here’s what they’ve done.  They lump all religions together, labeling them as a crutch for the helpless.  They put all the gods of all the people groups together when they say it would be completely ignorant to put any faith in these gods.

According to my beliefs there is a hole in this theory.  My faith is in an omnipotent monotheistic God.  Omnipotent = All powerful.  Monotheistic = There is only One God.

I can see how someone like the commander of the Assyrian army might think, “You dumb backwards hillbillies!  None of those other gods helped their people.  Don’t be stupid thinking your God will be any different.”

What these Assyrians don’t seem to understand is that God does not play by the track record of other gods.  He is all-powerful.  He will protect his people, even if it means conquering an attacking army of Assyrians.

From a more personal viewpoint, I need to stop taking these flippant accusations to heart.  If all the critics have to say against me is that I’m ignorant, helpless, and in need of a crutch, I say, “So what if I am?”

The truth is that we are all ignorant in need of God’s wisdom and direction.  We are all helpless in need of God’s protection.  And we are all weak mortal humans in need of God’s loving strength.  (See Job 38-39 for some brilliant sarcasm on this point.)

I’m not saying I have it all figured out… far from it!  I’m just saying that maybe I need to own the fact that God’s thoughts will always be unfathomably higher than mine.  And in comparison to His infinite wisdom… Yes, I am ignorant.

via Daily Prompt: Conquer

Leave a Reply

