Chew on this

Every once in a while a new idea will come along that puts my worldview into a wobble.  Weird choice of words, I know.  But wobbly is how my brain feels after days and weeks of shifting my way of seeing my world.

Learning and teaching have always been a huge part of my life.  My mom was going to college to become a teacher from the time I was born until I was seven.  Being the daughter of a teacher, we spent all our waking hours either at school or grading papers.  It was no surprise that when I was ready to go to college, I too decided to become a teacher.  Since then I have taught in three high schools, two middle schools, and now have homeschooled my own children for nine years.

I have put my heart and soul into teaching and being taught.  Then, along comes an idea that threatens to shift my paradigm in a pretty dramatic way.

“There is no such thing as teaching, only learning.”

I googled this phrase to see if I could find the original source, but apparently there are a lot of heated discussions about it.  And understandably so.  On the face of it, a lifelong teacher may feel that this is an insult to his or her profession.  I don’t see it that way though.

If this mantra is accepted, teachers are still valuable and indispensable members of our communities.  Their role is just redefined as mentor and guide.

I had thought that all of this ruminating and paradigm shifting was about the education of my children.  Today in my Bible reading I saw something different.  This idea of active learning is about me and my spiritual growth as well.

1 John 2

 “As for you, the anointing you received from him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit—just as it has taught you, remain in him.”

I’ve said this already in previous posts.  I have decided to limit my study to reading the Bible and just a few other trusted resources.  This is not because all the Bible studies out there are somehow bad.  It’s just that for too long I have been spiritually lazy.  I have relied on teachers to teach me what I need to know about God, how to serve in my church, how to love my family, and many other things.

I have come to a point in my life where I need to learn from Jesus, the one who called me to this life, instead of looking to someone else to teach me.  Learning instead of being taught.

It may seem like a subtle difference, but it has rocked my world.  I can already see that this is one of those things that I will be learning and relearning for months/years to come.

via Daily Prompt: Ruminate

Leave a Reply

