Rebellion and Acceptance: The Conflicting Desires of a Hypocrite

I’m a fan of the old Star Wars movies.  That may be telling my age just a little.  I don’t mean the digitally remastered Episodes 4, 5, and 6.  I mean the originals with the weird graphics that make you wonder if this might be what it would look like if the Muppets grew up and explored other worlds.

This dark side stuff may be metaphoric, but I don’t think it’s fictional at all.  There are times when my desires cause me to do or say the things that I know are wrong.  That’s nothing short of rebellion against what God has called me to be.  The Dark Side.

Then, there are times when my desire is to know God more and to be accepted by him.  This brings me closer to God.  The Light Side.

1 John 1:5-7  “God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.  If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.”

Some might think that if you’re a Christian you shouldn’t have these back and forth conflicting desires anymore.  But as far as I know God never said we would be without temptation.  He did say that he would give us a way out and the strength to bear it, but I think it is something we will struggle with for the rest of our lives.

Will I rebel?  Or will I lean into God’s grace and mercy to find acceptance?

I’m so thankful that his love is faithful no matter which side I find myself on today.

via Daily Prompt: Desire

 

Leave a Reply

