I’m in.

I’ve wanted for quite awhile to do a blog and podcast.  I even started a few.  I think one was about meal planning or some other mom centered theme.  I have lots of passions from finance, to education, to ministry.  And if reading enough books on a given subject makes me an expert, then I’m an expert in all of those plus home organization and fashion.  (Cue the skeptical looks from anyone who knows me!)  So, why did I decide to take this step and blog about my hypocrisy?  Of all things!

Well, that gets into two aspects of my personality that are constantly at odds.  On one hand, I pride myself in being a very practical person.  On the other, I tend to get very obsessed with any new interest.  And spending hours and hours of my life writing a blog about grocery shopping is what one might call completely impractical.  I know enough about myself to know that I would/will get sucked into this blog at the risk of neglecting everything else in my life.  The one thing I can no longer afford to neglect is my own spiritual journey.

My life has become shallow, or maybe it always was.  And as the title of the blog indicates, I have become quite the hypocrite.  It’s not that I talk like I’m all spiritual when I know my journey has reached this metaphorical desert.  But I’ve been more than happy to let people assume that I have it all together.

So, where I want to go with this is to make a personal commitment to being completely honest.  And a commitment to look and listen for God in my life.

Brief Outline of My Faith:  I’ll get more into my personal beliefs later, but I’ll just start with these basics.  I believe in One God, the Creator of all things.  I believe Jesus Christ is the Son of God.  He lived and died to offer life and Salvation to all people.  I believe in the Holy Spirit of God who makes himself known to those who have accepted the Salvation offered by Jesus.  I believe that the Bible is God’s Word to all people.

It may be odd to hear all these beliefs coming from a self proclaimed hypocrite.  These beliefs are very much a part of who I am.  My hypocrisy comes into play because I live my life as a person with morals instead of a person with a beautiful relationship with the God of the Universe.  As I begin this next leg of my journey, I am reminded of well known verse.  Of course, I don’t know where it’s found, but feel free to google it.

“You will seek me and you will find me, when you seek me with all my heart.”

Next Stop: Begin Seeking

Leave a Reply

